Truck size to pull Imagine 2970

We are planning to purchase a 2970. We are having a difficult time deciding what size truck to purchase to tow the trailer. Does anyone pull with a 1/2 ton or do we need a 3/4 ton truck for safety etc. reasons? Does the Ford 150 eco boost engine make a difference in towing capability?

I’m not an expert on the capacities of the F150, but I have a 3170 BH which looks to be 600 lbs less than the 2970.

I pull with a 3/4 ton diesel F250 and wouldn’t want anything less for my trailer. It’s a load, and a huge surface area for wind to catch. The hitch weight is way above 790ish pounds once loaded, which might be a problem for the payload capacity.

I’d do your research–there are plenty of people with way more experience towing on here and other forums. I really wanted to stick with a 1/2 ton truck for my trailer, but was convinced that 3/4 ton was a better choice, and have not regretted it.

Hey @jabhoyt welcome :clap:

I have Imagine 2950 that I pull with a GMC Sierra half-ton truck. I absolutely have no issues at all with braking etc. The GMC in the gas engine has a engine breaking function when in tow mode which is kind of like a poor mans Jake brake. I never tow with water, or my tanks full.

Just make sure you get a high quality WDH, I use the BlueOx like many but some others are also good.

@jabhoyt what specific truck are you considering? It has been my experience that it has been hard to find a F-150 with max towing which I believes includes the EcoBoost without ordering the truck. If you are looking for something on the lot just be careful but 1/2 ton should be more then enough truck.

All the half ton trucks got derated a few years ago when they decided to all agree to adopt the same towing capacity standards. Just be smart and leave yourself a good 20% margin.